top of page
  • sondrawinter

Flip Flop Start & Maryland Complete

Updated: Apr 30

We have reached our first hostel and taking the time to post update of the first week.


Flip Flop Kickoff Friday & Saturday


On Friday, April 19, we walked the through light rain from our hotel to Union Station in Washington DC. As we loaded the train, Amtrak directed all of the Harpers Ferry passengers into a single car, not sure if it was because of our gear, or the small platform in Harpers Ferry.


Arriving at Harpers Ferry with our pre hike nerves, it was nice to already be familiar with the town, and it was easy for us to find our way to the Appalachian Trail Conservancy (ATC) headquarters.  The ATC typically closes at 5, but stayed open late the Flip Flop Friday for any train riders to pick up their thru-hike hang tags.  Jimmy and I took our ATC photo and were assigned Flip Flopper # 86 & 87.



The seminars on Saturday were similar to those last year but we gleamed a few new nuggets of information. If anything it bolstered my confidence in making this hike happen.  The event also gave us plenty of opportunity to talk to other hikers as we picked each others brains.


By the time Saturday evening rolled around we were feeling pretty calm and felt ready to go.



Thru Hike Week 1


Trail Miles*


Sun 4/21 6.5

Mon 4/22 9.1

Tue 4/23 9.1

Wed 4/24 10.5

Thu 4/25 5.5


Total AT Miles covered 40.9


*Trail Miles do not include all miles walked each day


The Start

Sunday, April 21, 2024 Flip-Flop Thru Hike day # 1



Group photo in the morning followed by a pankcake breakfast. At 9 am the ATC gave a Scenic Sendoff through Harpers Ferry to the Maryland Bridge. Jimmy and I were interviewed by the local paper. It was a fun way to start our hike. Michael, Jimmy and I were the last of the send off group to cross the bridge and last to the Garvey shelter that afternoon.


Getting Settled In


The nights have been rather cold at night. Jimmy and I are learning to adapt to the cold conditions. The first few days my pack felt very heavy and it times uncomfortable. Same with my boots as the toe box felt a little tight, but overtime I feel like it is widening. Even though we’re keeping the trail miles under 10 miles per day, we end up hiking a lot more than trail miles. My body has been pretty tired and my muscles are fairly sore as I carry my pack and walk up some tall ascents and down some steep decents.


I have heard that getting organized as a key to a better hike, and I’m starting to see its importance. We are also working on compressing the amount of time it takes us to set up camp and to break it down each day.


Trail Names & Fellow Hikers


Over the years, I have nicknamed Jimmy “Trail Horse” due to the way he wants to get moving quickly and then focuses on the end location. He calls me “Lemonade” since I often look for some positive aspect in a situation that may of went the wrong way.  It has taken some getting used to when introducing my self as Lemonade instead of Sondra. Same goes for referring to Jimmy as Trail Horse.


I have been going rather slow on the trails and trail horse has bounded on up ahead of me and patiently waits for me at the end of each day. I know I will eventually get stronger and faster but for now I’m not going to push myself.


Throughout this first week, we crossed paths with the other flip floppers each day. Hiking with these guys has made the trip extra special. Trail Horse, and I will hike together the first hour then I’m usually alone until I cross paths with other hikers hiking with them throughout the middle of the day.


Lots of hikers are given trail names as they hike. It is fun to watch those in our little group get their names. Jimmy even named one guy Data, which the hiker accepted, so now that is his trail name. In fact, Michael started out as Island Boy, but our group decided he needed more of a Viking related name and thus has named him Ragnar.



This week the three of us hiked around Yogi, Dragonfly, Data, Ice Queen. Others without trail names have been the guy we called the Marine, the stealthy guy we call Nemo and then at the hostel we met Sassafras, Puget and Molly.


Today (Friday) we will leave our hostel and cross the Mason-Dixon line as we leave Maryland and enter Pennsylvania.


We still need to figure out photo sharing, but Trail Horse is telling me it is time to put down the phone, put on the pack and cross into Pennsylvania.




72 views2 comments

Related Posts

See All

Hiking Photos Available

We are going to use our old photo sharing system, but showing all of our photos. Usually we select a few to share, but this is a quicker method for us. Enjoy! Here is the link: https://1drv.ms/f/s!Am

bottom of page