top of page
  • sondrawinter

New England Hiking & Resting


Begin: Day 42, June 1, Stormville Market, NY

End: Day 48, June 7, Cornwall, CT


Biggest Trail Miles in a day this period: 15.6

Total Trail Miles Hiked: 458.0


 

Our hiking photos by state (new photos added to New York, and started a Connecticut folder):

 

Sour Lemonade

Last week we had a few mishaps in a short period of time and meant to add them to Jimmy’s post. However internet service has been spotty and I did not get a chance to add it. I wanted to share these to point out that this trip is not all rainbows and butterflies. It seems like a good precursor for this week’s update.


Foot Pain: I have been dealing with foot pain for a few weeks. The right foot seems to have improved, but the left foot has been problematic. It is getting better very, very slowly. I also am showing early signs of plantar fasciitis. Plus my shoes are feeling a bit tight. I hope new shoes will help and debated on taking a couple of days off to rest my feet.


Rain in tent: the morning after the above FUD accident we woke up very cold to find rain leaking into our tent. We are not sure if was just too much rain, or related to spilling DEET all over and damaging our gear.


Loss of equipment: the same day we woke up with rain in our tent, I dropped the bag containing my FUD and pee cloth before lunch and then lost my permethrin treated sunhat in the late afternoon. The following day I lost our ibuprofen which I had been taking regularly to deal with my foot pain.


Athletes foot: For the first time in my life I got athletes foot. I think my boots may be a culprit. Trail Horse has introduced me to Gold Bond, and I make it a point to take my boots off at lunchtime. This seems to be helping.


 

Now for this week’s update.


DAY 42 - Saturday, June 1

New Yorkers are awesome

Start: Stormville Market - 1439.6

End: NY 22 Tony’s Deli - 1454.4

Miles: 14.8

Ascent: 2203  |  Descent: 2561


Woke up to a gorgeous morning after sleeping behind Stormville Market. Last night and this morning we thoroughly enjoyed spending time talking to the staff at the deli and pizza restaurant. The local New Yorkers are so incredibly friendly to the hikers that pass through their little community. So much so that this little stop has been quite memorable for us, even before we were given a pizza rejected by a rude hiker.


The hiking was easier today than some of our recent days. Today’s route took us past some magnificent trees including the famous, giant Dover tree. At the end of the day, before turning off trail to our next deli campsite, I was able to take a shower behind a native landscape business owned by a hiker. This was an odd treat to the end of a long day.


DAY 43 - Sunday, June 2

Welcome to Connecticut

Start: NY 22 Tony’s Deli - 1454.4

End: Schaghticoke Mtn Campsite  - 1470.0

Miles: 15.6

Ascent: 3063  |  Descent: 2497


After camping behind Tony’s deli, we walked the half mile back to the trail for what was supposed to be an 11 mile day.  Sometime after lunch we crossed into Connecticut to be greeted with some very well maintained trails.

Sign marking entrance to Connecticut

Since we planned a shorter day, I took it easy while Trail Horse went ahead at his fast pace to the town of Bulls Bridge. He arrived around 2 pm, and was told that the person who could approve tenting in town wouldn’t be available until 5 pm, and that tenting is not always available.


With this news we reluctantly decided to push on another 4.6 miles to a campsite on the trail, making today a new long day record.


DAY 44 - Monday, June 3

Town Day

Start: Schaghticoke Mtn Campsite  - 1470.0

End: Kent - 1473.6

Miles: 3.6

Ascent: 719  |  Descent: 1345


A short hike followed by a mile road walk into Kent, CT, a cute, pricy town. Our time was spent taking care of a few chores, such as

  • Reviewing the trail ahead for the next resupply options, restaurants near trail, and places to camp

  • Stopping at an outfitter to pick up a new hat, pee cloth, and insect repellant

  • Grocery shopping

  • Laundry (see photos of our laundry day attire)

  • Reapplying permethrin to our tent and packs

  • Eating

The evening ended nicely with Brillo, Yogi, Trail Horse, myself, and another hiker named Youngblood, hanging out at the Fife ‘n Drum Inn. Although there was a small underline of sadness since Brillo will be pulling out ahead of us by doing longer miles starting in the morning, the evening was quite enjoyable while still together.


DAY 45 - Tuesday, June 4

New Shoes for Lemonade

Start: Kent - 1473.6

End:  Silver Hill Campsite - 1483.6

Miles: 10.0


This morning, Brillo stopped by our room to say her goodbyes, then we waited for the shoe store to open.


Arriving shortly after they opened at 10, the team there took their time with me to help me select a shoe. I ended up getting some low top shoes by Merrill. Years ago I had a similar pair of shoes by Merrill and was really happy with them, so I’m hoping this pair turns out to be great.


Since the morning was already growing long, Trail Horse, Yogi and I took an early lunch in town before heading back out on our hike. We covered 10 easy trail miles and it appears that my new shoes are working out well.


DAY 46 - Wednesday, June 5

Unplanned Trip to Town

Start: Silver Hill Campsite  - 1483.6

End: Cornwall - 1484.5

Miles: 0.9


Today completely sucked. It all started as I crawled into our tent last night, when I noticed a bit of nausea. Twice during the night I unsuccessfully attempted to vomit. Instead I woke up with a rumbly sensation in my abdomen. I’ll leave the details out, but Trail Horse recommended we hike the trail to the next road, which luckily was only a mile away, then do a mile long road walk to a little motel to wait out the issue.


We were checked in by 8:30 am. I spent the majority of the day sleeping. However I had zero desire to drink or eat anything.


DAYS 47 & 48 - June 6 & 7

Rest Days


The nausea was gone when I woke up Thursday morning and managed to not constantly fall asleep. I wanted to attempt hiking again, but Trail Horse is correct in that I need to be able to eat and get my stomach better settled.  The day was spent resting, napping and attempting to eat food again. We took a couple of short walks (CT is pretty) and are hoping that I will be well enough in the morning to resume the hike.


However, my stomach did not settle overnight and Friday morning we decided to stay one more day. Today I seem to be able to eat, so fingers are crossed to leave this expensive motel tomorrow. As a bright spot, perhaps this rest will also help my feet heal.


 

From here we are expecting a continuation of spotty internet service so we’ll stop this week’s update here and schedule it to post on Sunday. Next week we will work our way north along the western edge of Massachusetts.


66 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page